22 days to go

In just less than three weeks’ time I will be raring to go and running my first half marathon in Leicester! I still can’t believe how quick it’s coming round. I can’t wait to get to the start line and join thousands of runners who are also running a half marathon, or those who are brave enough to tackle the full 26 miles!

I have now found a map showing the half marathon route for Sunday 15th October on the Leicester Marathon website. Here is the route I’ll be running in 22 day’s time:

Starting at Victoria Park (where I have ran two Race for Lifes), the route goes past a lovely park called Abbey Park and round surrounding suburbs north of Leicester, including Thurmaston, Wanlip and Birstall. I will know that it’s not far until the end when I pass the iconic National Space Centre and then back through the city centre towards Victoria Park.

I’m looking forward to trying out a new route. My training has involved running along the same route which can get quite boring, so running past some of Leicester’s attractions will be exciting to do.

In terms of my training, I’ve yet to run 13 miles/21km. The furthest I’ve ran to date is 18km (approx. 11.2 miles). I’m hoping to run the distance of a half marathon this coming week or during the next weekend.

I went to the gym this morning and tried out rowing as a change from running. I quite often pass rowers when I run along the canal into Leicester and it looks tough. I’ve had a go at rowing a few times at the gym and now I tend to avoid it as it hurts my legs, hips and shoulders however, it’s a good intense workout. I then went on the treadmill for about 30 minutes, until I had reached 2.5km by varying the gradient and speed for another good workout.

I suppose I ought to think about what to eat the night before the half marathon. I’ve heard that carbs is a good option, so potentially spaghetti bolognese, but I’ll have a look into it and let you know what I decide to have as ‘the last supper’ before my toughest physical challenge yet!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

