18km round #3

With less than a month to go until the big day (28 days to be exact), I knew that I had to go out for a run this morning. I was prepared with a fully charged iPod (which ran out of battery on my previous long distance run) and my new moreFit fitness tracker. I was contemplating running 21km (the distance of a half marathon), but I decided to opt for a third attempt at 18km.

If I wanted to check the time, I used to have to take my iPod out of my pocket which is a bit of a faff when you’re running. My fitness tracker is a lot more convenient to see how long I’ve been running for as I wear it on my left wrist. I can also check the distance I’ve ran, although this isn’t as accurate as I was hoping.

When I reached the 5km mark, my fitness tracker only read 4.5km. By the time I completed my 18km run, it turns out that I had only run 16km. I use Mapometer to plan my routes which is pretty accurate, so I knew that I had run 18km, not 16km. Even though my fitness tracker may not be very accurate, it’s handy to have a timer on my wrist while I’m out running, and it gives me an estimate for how many steps I’ve done when I’m just pottering around the house or out walking.

I finished 18km in 2 hours and 10 minutes today, which is more than my previous two attempts. My first attempt was around 2 hours, and my second attempt was about 2 hours and 5 minutes. However, I am not too concerned about reaching a time for my first half marathon; my main goal is to be able to run one, however long it takes. If I was to put a time on, I would say that I’d aim for 2 hours and 30 minutes.

With the half marathon coming round the corner, I’m starting to feel the pressure, although I’m feeling confident that I’ll be able to run 21km/13 miles on the 15th October!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear 🙂

3 thoughts on “18km round #3

Leave a Reply

