Chocolate Banana Loaf

In true sibling fashion, I made my sister a birthday cake for the Bank Holiday Monday. We all went out for a lovely meal to celebrate my sister’s birthday, and it turns out that she brought a cake with her even though I made her one. It was quite funny having two cakes both lit with candles brought out by waitresses for one table!

I had a look in one of my favourite cake recipe books, called ‘The Classic 1000 Cake and Bake Recipes’, and decided to make a chocolate banana loaf. There were a few bananas which needed using (as they were extremely ripe) and I had some milk chocolate, so I opted for this recipe which I hadn’t tried before.

Firstly I melted 150g butter, 150g caster sugar and 150g of milk chocolate in a pan. I normally use cocoa powder or drinking chocolate powder when I make some form of chocolate cake, but I followed the recipe and melted the milk chocolate.

Sweet tooth combination!

When everything had melted, I took the pan off the heat and then stirred in three beaten eggs. When the eggs were combined I added two mashed bananas, and then gradually stirred in 200g plain flour and two teaspoons of baking powder. I then poured the cake mixture into a lined and greased loaf tin and baked for one hour at gas mark 3.

The cake mix tasted so good

Once the cake had cooled down I simply decorated the top with the left over melted chocolate and chocolate sprinkles which were hiding in the cupboard. The melted chocolate dripped down the sides of the cake, but no one seemed fussed about that when the cake was served at my sister’s birthday meal.

Chocolate banana loaf

Using melted chocolate in the cake mixture seemed to work really well. The sponge was nice and moist, which would have also been due to the bananas. The simple decoration of melted chocolate on top with sprinkles tasted nice as well, and made the whole loaf look like a chocolate lover’s idea of heaven!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear 🙂

One thought on “Chocolate Banana Loaf

Leave a Reply

