57 days to go

The date is looming nearer and it’s starting to feel pretty surreal. In 57 days’ time I will be running a half marathon at the Leicester Marathon (on Sunday 15th October). I try to think to myself that just under two months’ time sounds better than 57 days, but whatever way I phrase the amount of time I have left, it’s making me feel pretty nervous now! How about eight weekends to go until the half marathon? That sounds even more frightening!

I haven’t ran the distance of a half marathon yet. I’ve made it to 18km so far, which is 3km shy of a half marathon. Ideally I’d like to run the distance of a half marathon at least once before the big day.

Rather than going out for a long run I went to the gym this morning, after taking the dogs for a walk, and completed an intense 3km workout on the cross trainer. I felt pretty good afterwards, as I was varying the intensity levels while maintaining an average speed of 130 spins per minute. I completed 3km in just over 48 minutes, which is just over 16 minutes per kilometre. I always like to see the amount of calories burnt, even if it is just an estimate based on your age and weight, as well as your heart rate which is measured by sensors on the cross trainer which you place your hands on.

Result on the cross trainer

Even though I’ve not been getting down to the gym or running as often as I’d like to, I still keep myself active during the working week. Since my parents have been away I’ve been taking the dogs for an early morning 20-30 minute walk and then I walk to work, which is just shy of 2 1/2 miles and takes me about 45 minutes. A few nights after work I’ve took the dogs out for another walk, especially when the weather has been nice.

After the gym this morning- what’s happened to my hair?!

Ideally next Saturday is my next opportunity to go out for a long distance run. I’d like to run 18km again since my attempt last week didn’t go as according to plan. I have a half marathon route planned, which I actually did last year when I was supposed to run one.

My half marathon route for training

While I do feel nervous, I’m also in a position where I believe that I can complete this challenge. I am not aiming for a time, but I’d like to complete the half marathon in no more more 2 and 1/2 hours. I think that’s a reasonable target, since this will be the first time that I have ever ran this far, which I never had previously imagined before!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

