Race reflection

Today the Race for Life took place in Leicester- I hope that everyone who participated had a great time and enjoyed the experience of walking, running or dancing alongside hundreds of women who all support a worthy cause, Cancer Research UK.

I decided not to do the Race for Life this year. You may remember that last year one of my aims was to run a half marathon, but I focused too much on training to run 10km as quickly as possible. I did manage to beat the time of my first 10km Race for Life, which was 1 hour 12 minutes. Last year I completed my second 10km Race of Life in 1 hour and 4 minutes, which I thought was a great improvement.

How I was after last year’s Race for Life

 

By the time I had got round to running further than 10km last year, I was struggling and I decided that three months of training wouldn’t be enough time to run 21km/13 miles.

One year on, and I am now accustomed to running 15km. I have just over three months left until the half marathon in Leicester and I feel more comfortable about achieving this than I was last year.

Ideally I’d like to run 21km at least once before the 15th October. The next stage of my training is to run 17.5km, although I am tempted to push this to 18km, maybe even 19km. When planning my route I’ll see how I can extend my 15km routes.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear 🙂

Leave a Reply

