15km round #3

It’s been just over two weeks since I last posted on here- sorry about that!  I’ve been busy again recently and some weekday evenings I feel so exhausted that I don’t have the energy to write a blog.

Moving on, the last blog I wrote was about my current struggle to get down to the gym before work in the morning. I still haven’t been as of yet, but my training for the half marathon is getting better.

Despite feeling tired after a lovely and full day out in Skegness yesterday, I managed to run 15km this morning! It’s the third time I’ve ran this distance, and I felt that it went pretty well.

For a start, my shins didn’t hurt. This felt amazing as I’ve experienced pain in my shins recently when going out long distance running; it doesn’t make it any easier having this pain. I forgot to put Deep Heat on my legs, but I didn’t need it this morning. This was certainly a boost.

The weather was ideal for running today- the sun wasn’t too strong and there was a cool breeze. It tried to rain towards the end of the run which I didn’t mind, as it was refreshing.

I also ran a lot of the route on meadows and fields, which I prefer to running on hard pavements. The grass wasn’t wet so I didn’t get blisters or feel any rubbing on my feet. Some of the fields were a little overgrown which made it a bit harder running, but it feels nicer to run on grass.

I completed 15km today in about 1 hour and 48 minutes. This is not my fastest attempt, but considering the last time I went for a 15km run was over a month ago, I think I did well.

The next step now is to run 17.5km. The next time I go out for a long distance I will have a go at adding an extra 2.5km to my 15km routes. I’ve got about 3 1/2 months to go until the half marathon, so I need to be able to run another 6km in order to reach 21km, i.e. 13 miles!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear 🙂

One thought on “15km round #3

Leave a Reply

