parkrun #16

I was shattered on Friday night and was going to have a lie in on Saturday morning. However, I woke up at 8:20am and it was a beautiful morning. In the end I decided to go for a parkrun, my sixteenth one.

It wasn’t an easy run for me, which felt strange at the parkrun as it’s only 5km. I’ve mentioned recently in my long distance training for the half marathon that my right shin has been hurting. This happened early on, and my left shin started to hurt as well. I powered on through but I had to walk for periods of time, and walk up the dreaded slope halfway through the run.

I finished in 34 minutes and 47 seconds, which is my slowest time so far for the Braunstone parkrun. To be honest I thought the time was going to be longer than that, because I had to walk to ease my shins. I still managed to run up the slope at the finishing line and shortly after I finished running, my shins felt fine.

I’ve been running for two years and I’m surprised that I’ve only just starting experiencing pain like this in my shins. Maybe it’s because I’m training to run such a long distance that I’ve never ran before. It’s starting to annoy me now since I really want to run the half marathon in October. I guess with more training my shins will become accustomed to the longer distances.

I must remember to rub some Deep Heat on my shins next time I go out for a run. That’s what my parents have suggested doing, as it helps to ease pain and may help while I’m running. I don’t need to put any on when I’ve finished running as the pain goes away quickly.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear 🙂

One thought on “parkrun #16

Leave a Reply

