parkrun year #1

I can’t believe that it’s been a year since I first discovered the parkrun!

I was away in Guernsey for a short break and on the plane journey there, someone told me about the parkrun taking place on Saturday. By chance I had packed my running gear, because I was training for the Race for Life, and I wanted to experience running somewhere completely different.

On Saturday 14th May 2016, I ran in my first ever parkrun along the coast of Guernsey. I enjoyed the experience of running so close to the sea and the parkrunners were very friendly and welcoming.

I then soon found out that there are are several local parkruns near where I live, which I had no idea about. After my trip to Guernsey I went to the Braunstone parkrun and had the same experience of meeting a friendly community of runners.

Since discovering the parkrun in Guernsey, I have ran a total of 15 parkruns. My slowest time has been 35 minutes and 38 seconds, which was my first parkrun at Guernsey. My personal best so far has been 32 minutes and 1 second, which was achieved at the Braunstone parkrun.

I am so glad that I was told about the parkrun. It is a fun way of keeping fit, a great way to meet new people and a convenient way to time yourself, as you get your result at the end of the run for free. I must admit, I am not the most committed parkrunner out there, but when I do make it at 9am on a Saturday morning, I feel great running along with hundreds of runners.

I’d like to be able to complete a parkrun in 30 minutes- that is one of my targets for this year. I’d also like to reach the milestone of 25 parkruns, which means 10 more parkruns to go. I’d aim for 50, but that’s another 35 to go. Who knows, I might reach that target if I try hard enough.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear 🙂

Leave a Reply

