Dance for Life

Last night I had an interesting and very fun experience. I treated my mother (it was her Christmas present) to go to Peter Kay’s Dance for Life, which was in aid of Cancer Research UK. Held at the Nottingham Motorpoint Arena, thousands of people danced for three hours with Peter Kay as the DJ along with actress Sian Gibson.

My mother and I wished we knew in advance that people were dressing up for this event. Most people were dressed in 80s gear, but there were also smurfs, Where’s Wally?, Elvis Presley and other quirky characters and celebrities. People were also dressed up with t-shirts designed for the Dance for Life in florescent colours and were wearing light up trainers and glow sticks. However, I did wear my pink running t-shirt which I’ve worn for the Race for Lifes, and I saw some other people wearing them too.

The atmosphere was electric! Peter Kay and Sian Gibson took it in turns to play the DJ set and there were really funky images on the large screen behind them, like in the photo below (you can just see Peter and Sian in the middle). The music was a mix bag as well, with 80s and 90s music and popular modern party anthems. A Zumba group from Nottingham also came onto the stage to show some Zumba moves and join in with the fun.

Night fever!

Dancing for three hours straight was a lot of fun, and tiring as well! Everyone looked shattered at the end of the night, but with big smiles on their faces. It was a fun form of exercise- I’d love to go to another Dance for Life again!

Another funky backdrop

I’ve completed three Race for Lifes (5km which I walked and two 10km ones which I ran), which were also in aid of Cancer Research UK. Last night was a very different way of raising money, as the majority of the money paid for tickets is donated to the charity. Peter Kay also encourages people to get sponsored for the three hour dance-a-thon via JustGiving, which has raised over £52,000 so far!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear 🙂

One thought on “Dance for Life

Leave a Reply

