Lemon drizzle cake #2

Last Saturday I made a lemon drizzle cake for a bake off at work. I received positive comments from colleagues which was a good sign. I tried a little slice myself today from what was left over- it was soft and moist, and rather lemony but not too overpowering. I felt proud of myself, as I think it was the first time that I had made a lemon drizzle cake, or it’s been a very long time (I can’t remember).

Tomorrow night I am going to a ladies night in/sherry evening with my mother. My mother asked me to make a lemon drizzle cake for tomorrow, so I decided to leave it until tonight to make one, after finding out the verdict from work. I used the same recipe, but used plain flour with a teaspoon of baking powder instead, as I had run out of self-raising flour. I also used a metal loaf tin instead rather than a silicone one, as my mother bought a metal one on Sunday.

Lemon drizzle cake ready to cook

I greased the metal loaf tin and put some greaseproof paper in as well to stop the cake from sticking.

Fresh out of the oven

Same as before, I poured over the lemon drizzle icing on the cake as soon as it came out of the oven. Again I had to pull the cake gently away from the edges of the tin to let the icing pour down the sides of the cake. After it had cooled down a bit, I took the lemon drizzle cake out of the tin.

Yummy!

I must admit, I prefer the look of my second attempt at lemon drizzle cake. You can see the drizzle icing on top of the cake and it looks more of a golden brown. My father said it was to do with the fact that I used plain flour with baking powder instead of self-raising flour. The shape of it looks better as well since I cooked it in a solid metal loaf tin, rather than a silicone one.

Hopefully it’ll taste as nice as my first attempt. I will find out tomorrow night!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear 🙂

One thought on “Lemon drizzle cake #2

Leave a Reply

