15km (failed attempt)

This morning didn’t quite go to plan (as you can tell from the title of this blog). I was hoping to run 15km for the second time; it’s been way over a month since I last ran 15km which was at the Resolution Run in March. I signed up for the Leicester Half Marathon recently which means I’m definitely running 21km (13 miles) this year.

The run was going well at first. I passed my father this morning walking one of our dogs called Barney. Barney tried to run with me which was cute, and he was confused whether to stay with my father or run with me. He stayed with my father in the end which I’m glad of. I need to have a go at running with Barney; he’s a Springer Spaniel who is full of so much energy so a run would do him the world of good.

I hadn’t really ran that far when my right shin was starting to hurt. I carried on running, ignoring the pain but I had to walk for a bit. It’s not the first time that this has happened. I’ve felt pain on my right shin before when I’ve been out running, which has only happened a couple of times. I really wanted to carry on and run 15km, but I didn’t want to injure myself. Each time I resorted to walking my right shin felt sore, so I decided to call it a day and walk back home.

Ready for running on a Sunday morning

I managed to run 5km this morning, the equivalent of a parkrun. I was disappointed that I didn’t make it further, but I believe that I made the decision to stop running. My father told me after my run this morning that it’s normal to feel pain in your shins when running. There’s not a lot of muscle on the shins, it’s all in the calfs. I just hope that it doesn’t start becoming a regular occurrence as I want to be able to complete a half marathon. The pain didn’t really last that long when I got back thankfully.

I do need to make long distance running a regular thing now since it’s just over 5 months away until the big day! I also need to get back to the gym, as I’ve not been for over a month! This is because I am struggling to adapt to my new job- I feel so exhausted at the end of each day and I struggle to wake up early enough to go to the gym before work. I don’t want to go to the gym after work as I wouldn’t be there until 6pm, which is a peak time for my gym. I used to be able to get up at 6:20am a few days a week in my previous job, so if I persevere, I’m sure that I can make it to the gym. Even though I’ve not been to the gym for a while, the 2.5 mile walk to work has been doing me good.

I need to work on my adaptability.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear 🙂

One thought on “15km (failed attempt)

Leave a Reply

