Lemon drizzle cake

As you all know I love cooking, but I don’t bake very often. I’d love to bake more however, baking involves sweet sugary treats and I’d weigh a lot more if I made cakes on a regular basis. The only time I’ll make a cake is for someone’s birthday, a party or a charity event.

At my new place of work a bake off has been running for a while now and there was a gap for the week commencing the 8th May. So I decided to volunteer and offer to make a cake. Tonight I made a lemon drizzle cake ready for work on Monday.

I used a recipe book which I’ve had for 10 years now! I won it when I was at secondary school. The book is called ‘The Classic 1000 Cake & Bake Recipes’. It’s a brilliant book which I’ve used on many occasions. I referred to the recipe for Lemon Drizzle Cake.

One of my favourite recipe books

Firstly I creamed together 100g of butter and 175g of caster sugar until there was a light and fluffy mixture. Then I gradually whisked in two beaten eggs, followed by 175g of self raising flour, 4 tbsp of milk and the grated rind of 1 lemon. I mixed it altogether until there was a smooth texture. I then poured the mixture into a silicone loaf tray and baked in the oven at gas mark 4 for 45 minutes.

Lemon cake ready to bake

While the cake was in the oven, I mixed together 4 tbsp of icing sugar and 3 tbsp of freshly squeezed lemon juice. As soon as it came out of the oven, I poured the icing mixture over the cake.

Lemon drizzle cake fresh of the oven

The only problem was that the icing kept on sitting round the edge of the cake, so I had to pull the silicone tray at the edges to let the icing run down the sides. Once the cake had cooled down a bit, I took it out of the tray and placed some sliced lemon on top for decoration.

Lemon drizzle cake ready for work

I think that the cake looks a little bit overdone, but hopefully it’ll taste great. I tried a little bit of the cake that was stuck to the silicone tray and it tasted sweet and lemony, which is always a good sign.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear 🙂

One thought on “Lemon drizzle cake

Leave a Reply

