Update #15

Hello! Sorry it’s been a while. I hadn’t realised it’s been over a week since I last posted on my blog, but I have been rather busy recently.

Before I go through update #15 in my usual fashion, I thought I’d let you know that I started a new job on Monday. I finished my previous job last Thursday and went to Scarborough for the weekend with my mother. The weather was lovely and we both had a nice time, which was a sort of mini break before starting my new job.

View of Scarborough from the hotel

I’m glad to say that I’m back into walking to work again now! It’s a 45 minute walk for me to get to my new place of work. Luckily the weather has been on form this week which has made my transition into walking to work again pleasant. In my previous job I drove because there was no traffic and it took less than 10 minutes, so I used to have a lie in (or get myself down to the gym early in the morning).  For my new job, the traffic is quite the opposite so I find walking more beneficial. I can opt for the bus when the weather is poor or after work when I need to get back home quicker.

Gym wise, I’d like to have a go next week. The gym is a 15-20 minute walk from my new place of work, so I could walk or get the bus to the gym early in the morning, have a session there and then make my way to work. I used to get up at 6:15am for the gym when I drove to work, so I could still leave out at the same time and get to work on time after the gym.

Back onto the update. On the first day of March it was the beginning of lent. For the third year running I have given up eating meat during lent. During this period of time I become experimental in the kitchen. This is because I often have to do more of my own cooking as my parents carry on eating meat. I had a go at making a Spanish omelette, the first attempt I burnt it a little and my second attempt was much better and tastier. I also made a vegetarian pasta bake which was very tasty.

My biggest achievement fitness wise happened in March- I ran 15km for the first time! This was at the Resolution Run which was in aid of Stroke Association. It was certainly a challenge but it has made me more determined than ever to run the half marathon in October this year. I managed to finish 15km in 1 hour and 38 minutes.

Feminist wise, I wrote a quick blog about International Women’s Day on the 8th March. I haven’t had a chance to write about it yet, but on the 6th March the topic of wearing high heel shoes in the workplace was debated in Parliament. I had a quick scan through the transcript and the majority of people were in favour that forcing women to wear high heel shoes is outdated. I have been covering the story about Nicola Thorp who set up the petition in the first place on the site Viral Feminism.

I made some vegetarian quiches recently, so I will hopefully post about those very soon on my blog. But for now, happy reading and blogging!

 

Clare Bear

Leave a Reply

