Meat free

For the third year running, I have given up meat for the period of lent. It is during this time that the foodie aspect of my blog tends to be more active, as I become more experimental in the kitchen and try out new vegetarian dishes. I have a few meals I’d like to have a go at making this year, including spinach and ricotta cannelloni, vegetarian risotto and stuffed mushrooms.

I will probably consult my vegetarian recipes book that one of my friends bought for me a few years ago. There are some nice sounding recipes in there, I tried out a few last year during lent.

Veggie book

While giving up meat hasn’t helped me to lose body weight as such, I always feel like that my body’s had some sort of detox. I like the challenge of thinking of non-meat foods to eat and I feel that it does me good to have a rest from eating meat.

Generally during lent I will eat with my parents but I will have a vegetarian alternative instead. For example, while they have a roast dinner with meat I will have the trimmings but instead of meat, I’ll have something like a stuffed pepper or a fishcake. I still eat fish during lent, as this is a good source of protein.

If you have any suggestions of vegetarian meals that I should try out, feel free to post in the comments.

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear đŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Meat free

  1. […] update. On the first day of March it was the beginning of lent. For the third year running I have given up eating meat during lent. During this period of time I become experimental in the kitchen. This is because I […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

