12.5km (round 1)

This October I am determined to run a half marathon at the Leicester marathon, since it didn’t happen last year. Training for such a distance involves plenty of exercise, determination and time management. At the moment the weekends are the best time for me to have a go at running long distances, but sometimes my weekends can get pretty busy. However, today I have a free Sunday, so I decided to use it to my advantage and I went out for a 12.5km run.

I was going to run on the treadmill at the gym because I didn’t get the chance to go to the gym last week. I was on dog walking duty as my dad was away, so I took my dogs out for a walk every morning before work. It actually made a nice change, and I enjoyed going for a walk along the meadows just as it was starting to get light. Instead I decided to run outside this morning. The weather was great for running- it was cool, it wasn’t raining and it wasn’t windy.

I was excited to try out my new headphones today. They worked really well for the duration of the run. I pushed them back into my ears a couple of times but otherwise they stayed in my ears- the clips that go round the back of the ears really help to stop the headphones falling out. I didn’t feel too much sweat around the headphones which made a change from the large headphones I used to wear.

20170219_092433.jpg
Ready to try out my new headphones

I probably didn’t choose the best route this morning as it had been rather wet during the week. I ran round a big field which was muddy and wet in places. I almost slipped over a couple of times, but I aimed to run on areas of grass which weren’t too muddy. I didn’t mind my feet getting wet, it helped to keep me cool during the run. In addition it was quite a good workout running on the field, since it was hard to run around it.

The 12.5km route I had planned had more difficulties besides the muddy and wet field. There were several slopes, some with steeper inclines than others. I managed run up the majority of these, but I had to walk up a couple as they can be rather challenging. In time as my half marathon training continues I’m sure it’ll start to feel easier to run up the inclines.

I completed 12.5km this morning in 1 hour, 28 minutes and 34 seconds. I think it was a good first attempt with this distance, considering I had the field to tackle as well. It reminded me of the Iron Run I did back in October last year when my feet got wet and my calfs were covered in specks of mud. It was very fitting that I wore the Iron Run t-shirt today!

20170219_110136.jpg
My trainers after a wet and muddy 12.5km

My trainers have been in the washing machine for the first time since I’ve had them. It was probably about time that they had a wash anyway and they look much better now. I want to take good care of my running shoes- they are very comfortable and I hope they last by the time the half marathon comes round, which will be here sooner than I realise.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear

2 thoughts on “12.5km (round 1)

Leave a Reply

