Update #13

As cliche as this sounds, I’m not a fan of January. The buzz from Christmas and New Year quickly fades with the return to normal life, such as going back to work and not scoffing on lots of mince pies. Sadly the news didn’t help much either and my social media feeds were filled with ‘Breaking News’ (oh, what now?!), but it wasn’t all dreary.

It’s been good to see lots of people retaliate against Donald Trump since he became President of the United States, especially politicians and people in power who have stood up to him. I would’ve loved to have participated in the Women’s March on London on 21st January, but I couldn’t make it. Instead I wrote a quick blog summarising my thoughts on the marches, picking some of my favourite banners used in marches around the world.

Continuing on the theme of feminism, I wrote a follow up blog for Viral Feminism on the story of Nicola Thorp, who set up a petition against women wearing high heel shoes in the workplace. Everyone who signed the petition would have received an email recently from the government, which states that the petition will be debated in Parliament on the 6th March. This is excellent news, and another step towards achieving gender equality in the workplace.

I wrote my first review of a restaurant on my blog. This was a Greek Cypriot restaurant called Troodos Taverna, which serves amazing food. My parents had been meaning to take me there for a while, and it was certainly worth the wait. I love Greek food so to have Greek Cypriot food in a family run restaurant was incredible.

I only managed to run one parkrun in January, which was my 11th one. I thought that I did pretty well and was hoping to reach my personal best, but I didn’t quite reach it. I’m planning on running this Saturday, which will be a cold morning according to the weather forecast. I’ve got a sports jacket if it’s really cold, and besides, I tend not to feel the cold when exercising, so it should be fine (as long as I get up in time!).

Despite only achieving one parkrun, I did run 10km on the treadmill at the gym. This was on a Sunday morning and I managed to complete 10km in 1 hour and 12 minutes. I’ve not yet had the chance to run 10km again since then, but ideally by the end of this month I’d like to be pushing myself to run 12.5km to get the half marathon training into full swing.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear

Leave a Reply

