Back on the 10k

I think the last time I ran 10km was at my second Race for Life in July last year. I planned a half marathon route after the Race for Life but I don’t think I ran 10km or further than 10km, as my training went down the drain. This year I am determined to run a half marathon, which will be at the Leicester Marathon on Sunday 17th October.

So to get back on the running wagon, I went to the gym this morning and ran 10km treadmill, just to make sure that I still had it in me. Considering that it’s been at least half a year since I ran 10km, I think that finishing it in 1 hour and 12 minutes this morning wasn’t too bad. The fastest time I have completed 10km is in 1 hour and 4 minutes, which was at the Race for Life last year.

10km on the treadmill

I must admit, it wasn’t easy this morning. I managed to run at 9-9.5km/h for quite a long time, but on a few occasions I had to slow right down to 5.5-6km/h to walk for a bit, but then I increased the speed back up again, gradually to 9.5km/h. I managed to run at 10km/h for the last 5 minutes or so. I was tempted to stop half way through when I reached 5km, a distance I’m greatly accustomed to through doing the parkruns, but I’m glad that I carried on and completed 10km.

I have just under 9 months to train for the half marathon, which sounds like plenty of time but it’ll pass by quicker than I can comprehend. I held the attitude last year that 9 months was oodles of time, but I focused mostly on finishing the Race for Life faster than my previous time, which meant running 10km as quickly as possible. The training will need to be different for running 21km, because if I run at the speed I did today on the treadmill for the first 10km of the half marathon, I won’t stand a chance of finishing in October.

I know that I can run 10km, but I think for the rest of this month and into some of February, I will continue to practice running 10km to get back into the swing of things. Then I will move onto 12.5km for February/March, 15km for April/May, 17.5km for June/July and then 21km for August until the date of the half marathon. This is just a rough guideline for training, so I will adjust the dates if need be. I think the very latest I’d like to be able complete 21km is by September.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear

One thought on “Back on the 10k

Leave a Reply

