Stuffed sweet potato skins

In my usual fashion, I experimented for dinner last Sunday evening as my parents were away for the weekend, so I just had myself to cook for. I absolutely love sweet potatoes and my family currently have quite a few in the vegetable rack at home. I have made sweet potato skins a few times before. They always taste better than standard potato skins; the sweetness from sweet potatoes adds more flavour and excitement I find.

So on Sunday evening I made vegetarian stuffed sweet potato skins by using tomatoes, garlic, chick peas and sweetcorn as the filling. Firstly I microwaved a sweet potato for 4 minutes on full power to start softening it. Then I popped it in the oven for about half an hour on gas mark 4. I was writing my most recent blog post about working out at the gym while the sweet potato was cooking in the oven. I cut the sweet potato in half after leaving it to cool for a bit. I then scooped out the potato filling and placed it in a bowl. I later made this into a mash, which I served with my dinner.

20161120_181108
Cooked sweet potato in half

Then I moved onto the filling for the sweet potato skins. I finely chopped a clove of garlic and fried on a gentle heat in a pan of oil. I then added a handful of cherry tomatoes which needed using. When the tomatoes had softened I added some water and a little bit of tomato puree. While the garlic and tomato sauce was simmering I cooked some chick peas and sweetcorn together in a pan. Once these were done I added some to the tomato sauce so that there was enough to fill the two potato skins.

20161120_183011
Sweet potato filling

I filled up the sweet potato skins with the chickpea and sweetcorn filling, then put them in the oven at gas mark 4 for 10 minutes.

20161120_183117
Very stuffed potato skins…

After 10 minutes I sprinkled some Red Leicester cheese on both skins and cooked for a further 5 minutes in the oven.

20161120_184755
… and very cheesy too!

I had a bit of a make shift meal on Sunday evening to go with the stuffed sweet potato skins. My parents cooked a joint of beef on Thursday and there was still some leftover, so I had some slices of delicious cold beef with some salad and the mash made from the sweet potatoes. I really enjoyed the stuffed sweet potato skins. I love the combination of chickpeas and sweetcorn, which I quite often have in my salad for lunch at work. The tomato sauce I made added even more flavour and kept all of the components together.

20161120_185122
Dinner is served

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear

One thought on “Stuffed sweet potato skins

Leave a Reply

