Getting intense

I’ve had yet another successful week fitness wise. I went to the gym on Wednesday and Friday morning before work and really turned up the intensity in my workouts. I mentioned previously that I was going to work harder on high intensity exercises at the gym, and it worked this week. Here are the results in two photos below:

20161116_072124.jpg
Wednesday morning
20161118_072920.jpg
Friday morning

Both sessions were for 40 minutes on the cross trainer. I purposely made the workouts challenging by jumping from intensity level 5 straight to 15 more often during the session. It hurt my legs as I had to push down harder to make the cross trainer work. To make things even more challenging, I aimed to keep up my speed. It is difficult to maintain a faster speed the higher the intensity, but it makes for an excellent workout. I was tired by the end of the session on Friday, as I aimed to workout at intensity level 15 for longer periods and work at lower levels for less time.

It’s been a while, but I went to the gym this Sunday afternoon. I was originally going to run 10km on the treadmill, just to make sure that I can still run that far. The last time I ran 10km was at the Race for Life back in July this year. However, I think I was a bit too eager and outran myself. I started running at a very fast pace too early, usually the pace I would do at the parkrun which is half the distance. I had to slow right down to walking pace on a couple of occasions and then speed up again. In the end I decided to call it quits when I reached 5km on the treadmill, which I completed in just less than 38 minutes.

While I’ve done well again in getting down to the gym early in the morning (and also going at the weekend), I don’t know how I’ve done this week in terms of my body weight. My mother’s scales have died and I can’t find the spare batteries. I always weigh myself on the same scales in the same place on a Saturday morning, for consistency. I decided to try out the scales at the gym this afternoon after running 5km. I weighed 102.8kg, which equates to about 16.2 stone. This would mean that I have lost 2 pounds, but consider that I was fully clothed with trainers on, had just ran 5km and used a different set of scales. Hopefully I’ll have my mother’s scales working again by Saturday and then I will see the results. For now I will continue going to the gym at least twice a week and managing my diet better by eating less of the unhealthy stuff and eating at a slower pace as well.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear đŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Getting intense

Leave a Reply

