For another time

One of my goals for this year was to run a half marathon. I was going to run half of the Leicester Marathon on Sunday 23rd October, but I have decided against it. I only have myself to blame.

I decided at the start of this year to go for a half marathon, which meant 9 months of training. This was plenty of time but before I knew it, October’s already around the corner. I ran 14.5km back in March when going out for a 10km run, but then I decided to extend it to see how I would do. I didn’t find it too bad, but then about a month ago I tried to run more than 10km again, which I found a real struggle and I only managed about 13km.

My focus was mostly on the 10km Race for Life which I ran on Sunday 10th July. I set myself a challenging target to complete the race in 1 hour. This meant when I went out running, I only did 10km and ran rather fast towards the end of the route. This method of running of course wouldn’t work for an even longer distance. In the end I completed my second Race for Life in 1 hour and 4 minutes, which I’m still proud of because last year I finished my first Race for Life in 1 hour and 11 minutes. 7 minutes faster may not seem much, but to me it’s an achievement and shows that my fitness has improved since last year despite gaining more body weight.

In addition my time management could have been much better. It’s easy to say that ‘Life gets in the way‘. There have been times when it has been like this for me this year, such as periods of time when I’ve been more focused on other areas of my life. However, I would like to work at balancing the activities that I do rather than putting fitness aside, which I have done at times.

Therefore I will save the half marathon for next year. It would be dangerous for me to run the half marathon this year without the adequate training. Maybe I will drop the Race for Life next year so that I can just focus on the Leicester marathon. At least I have a route planned ready for when I decide to go out for a long distance run.

Half marathon route
Half marathon route planned

Rather than being too hard on myself, I have done pretty well this year in terms of fitness. I ran my first parkrun in Guernsey and have ran a total of five so far. I go to my local parkrun at Braunstone Park when my Saturday mornings are free. My fastest time so far at the parkrun is 33 minutes and 11 seconds. I beat last year’s time at the Race for Life and also had a lot of fun at the Color Run last month.

Furthermore, this Saturday I’m going to be participating in the Iron Run with colleagues from work! The Iron Run is a 6km route with lots and lots of mud, as well as many obstacles. I’m certainly going to be very dirty after this run and quite exhausted from overcoming the obstacles. However, I will be cautious not to over exert myself as I will be travelling to Paris the very next day! I’m off to Paris for a week from the 2nd-9th October with one of my university friends; je ne peux pas attendre!

iron-run
Feeling ready for the Iron Run!

Expect update #9 sometime after the 9th October.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear

5 thoughts on “For another time

  1. Hi Clare,

    What sort of advice would you give someone who was considering preparing to run a marathon? And, do you have any advice on a training regime around work and other commitments?

    Good luck and enjoy!

    Like

    • Hi Jo 🙂
      I think the first bit of advice I’d give is you can achieve aything if you put the work in
      From my own experience, I never thought I’d be able to run long distances due to my body weight, but the truth is, your body weight does not affect how fit you can be
      If you overcome the first hurdle of doubting yourself and really going for it, you can do it! 🙂
      It can be difficult to fit in training around work and other commitments, as you’ve read from this post
      I think planning is very important if you’re thinking of running a marathon- this is something I need to do much better for next year!
      You’ll need to make the time somehow or use your time effectively in order to fit in training
      Use the time on your days off to do some training if you can
      I go to the gym in the mornings before work, which can be difficult because it’s early, but it gets my day going and I feel much better about myself
      Before and after work are good times to fit in working out and training
      Thank you Jo 🙂
      Hope this advice is helpful

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

