parkrun #5 followed by afternoon tea

This morning I ran my fifth parkrun at Braunstone Park. It had been a while since my last parkrun as Saturdays can be quite busy for me sometimes. Now that it’s officially autumn the weather is starting to feeling cooler, which was ideal for running this morning.

I tried to push myself by running faster for periods of time, but my legs felt felt achy during the run so I walked for parts of the route. Additionally my trainers weren’t on their best behaviour; I had to stop three times to tie up my shoelaces! I don’t like stopping completely when running as it can be difficult to get a good pace without stopping again. I had to walk briefly after tying up my shoelaces for the final time, and then I really went for it and ran fast on the last steep incline to the finish line.

My finish time was 33 minutes and 31 seconds, which is 20 seconds off my best time. I came in 318th place out of 385 parkrunners. So considering that I had to stop to sort out my trainers and walk for parts of the run, I’m pleased with the result.

After a fit start to the day, I treated my mother to afternoon tea in Leicester. We went to a quirky little tearoom called Mrs Bridges, where we sat outside in a courtyard area. Considering it was cooler this morning for the parkrun, the afternoon was lovely and it was warm enough to sit outside.

20160924_161036.jpg
Mrs Bridges’ afternoon tea

I had sticky chilli chicken sandwiches with roasted mediterranean vegetables and my mother had sausage sandwiches with cheese, lettuce and chutney. They were delicious, especially the chicken ones. The sticky chilli was sweet, which I love as a sauce with chicken. We then had a large scone each generously lathered with clotted cream and strawberry jam. We also had a macaroon each (one was caramel and the other strawberry), a slice of chocolate brownie and we shared a slice of lemon tart. The sweet treats were also delicious, which were enjoyed by my mother and I with a pot of tea between us.

While this afternoon tea certainly wasn’t like the one I had recently at the Savoy, I still really enjoyed it (especially the chilli chicken sandwiches). I like to have an afternoon tea now and again as a treat; you can’t beat a fruit scone with jam and clotted cream with a lovely cuppa!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear

One thought on “parkrun #5 followed by afternoon tea

Leave a Reply

