Update #8

September already?! Everytime I come round to writing my monthly update I wonder where the time has gone. August went by in what seems a blur, but I refresh my memory by looking at what blogs I published last month. Sometimes I even look through my Facebook profile/timeline to see what I’ve been up to the past month! I feel that writing a monthly update helps me to keep track of how I’m doing this year and what I’ve achieved.

I came back from a short break to Spain on the 3rd August which was lovely. I got to visit Barcelona for the first time, which I definitely need to go back to as I only scraped the surface. I did my fourth parkrun on the first Saturday of August and a professional photographer was present, so there’s a few snaps of how I look when running.

One highlight of August has to be the Color Run! I went to Birmingham with some friends to participate in the 5km run around a venue called the NEC. Getting covered in colour is a fun experience, since colour makes most people feel happy. It was my friends’ first time at a Color Run and they really enjoyed it as well.

13962840_10153875524770954_65266952032610777_o
En route home after the Color Run

Another highlight of last month is going to the Savoy near Convent Garden in London for high afternoon tea! I do love an afternoon tea. The Savoy is full of grandeur and beauty; I felt overwhelmed for a while until I relaxed into the atmosphere and enjoyed tea, sandwiches, scones and cakes. I have actually got another afternoon tea to book by the end of October, so I will no doubt post about that one in the near future.

I also got round to planning a route to train for the half marathon in October. However, I have decided not to run it this year. My preparation has been very poor and I didn’t plan my time very well at all. I decided at the start of the year to run a half marathon, so I had plenty of time to train. Sometimes I have found it difficult to find the time, since it would take me over 2 hours to run a half marathon. If I attempt to run it in October, I would probably cause myself an injury. Iwill aim to do it next year, but plan my time instead and keep my focus on training for 21km.

I have got the Iron Run coming up next month on the 1st October with work colleagues, which is a 6km course with obstacles and lots of mud. That’ll be an interesting experience, as I’ve never ran through mud before or really ran a course with obstalces. It will be an intense work out as well!

I’ve been quiet on the feminist front and I haven’t written any poetry either. I’ve been busy and more focused on other areas in my life the past month, but I do have ideas that I’d like to set in motion this month. There has been a lot in the news concerning feminism and I have some poetry ideas, which came about when I decided to walk to work this morning.

My favourite poetry night, Find The Right Words, starts again this month after the summer break. If you are interested in what I get up to poetry wise, you can check out my other blog ‘Poclaretry‘. I share poems that I’ve written and blog about events that I perform at.

Here’s to September!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear

Leave a Reply

