Half marathon route planned

One of my aims for this year is to run a half marathon aka 21km (13.1 miles). I’ll admit, my preparation has been very poor for this. I ran 14.5km back in March and haven’t ran this distance again or any further than 10km. The half marathon is part of the Leicester marathon on Sunday 23rd October, so I have just over two months of training.

Part of my problem has been not utilising my time effectively. Weeks have flown by which have been so busy that I didn’t have the time to fit a long distance run in. On the contrary, other weeks where I’ve had more free time could’ve been an opportunity to go out for a longer run. I consider myself very good time with time management in terms of my employability and when I was a university student, but I need to get my act together for managing time for my fitness.

This weekend I have a uni friend coming up to visit, so I will have to allocate time during next week to go out for a long distance run. Of course, I should probably aim to run 15km first, then build it up to a 18km run, then a half marathon of 21km.

Using a handy website called Mapometer, I have planned a half marathon route, which is in the screenshot below:

Half marathon route

The route I’ve mapped out uses the 10km route I ran when training for the 10km Race for Life. I am familiar with the whole route, as I’ve ran parts of it for shorter distances. The gradient is flat for the majority of the run, except for towards the end where there is a quite a long slope (this I will have to take at a steady pace).

I feel a bit scared about training for the half marathon at the moment, as it will be the furthest I’ve ever ran in my life. As a child, I never thought I would be where I am now. I never dreamed that I would be running without being scorned at for being ‘fat’, for trying to improve my fitness and attempt to manage my body weight better. In my quest to become fitter I’ve not met any malice or hatred yet, which has pleasantly surprised me. Turns out that most people are conscious about themselves too and are in fact positive towards others who work out.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear

One thought on “Half marathon route planned

Leave a Reply

