First after work run

I went for a 10km run after work today. I had been contemplating going for a run after finishing work for sometime, and I finally got round to doing it this evening!

It felt pretty good running after sitting at a desk for 8 hours. I like to go for a 10 minute walk during my lunch break as I get a numb bum and my legs sometimes feel stiff. The weather was also ideal during the run; it was sunny and there was a breeze which helped to keep me cool (hope the weather’s similar on Sunday).

I managed to finish 10km in my fastest time so far, 59 minutes and 20 seconds! Unfortunately I had to stop twice to tie up my shoes laces but this run is probably the best one I’ve done so far, in terms of keeping a decent pace. Recently I’ve had to walk for a bit during 10km runs because I’ve started running too fast, but today I focused on my pace and I didn’t need to walk at any point due to exhaustion.

I’m feeling a bit apprehensive about finishing the Race for Life in 1 hour on Sunday, because there are quite a few inclines on the route and I’ve not ran the route since doing the Race for Life last year. I’ve also been finishing 10km routes in the nick of time; 40 seconds to spare is not much time. However, I think the atmosphere on the day and the sponsorship I’ve received so far will encourage me to keep on going and finish the race in 1 hour or less.

I’ll definitely consider running after work again. It’s a great way to get some fresh air, flex my muscles and most importantly, exercise and aid with my weight loss. If I don’t get up in time to go to the gym in the morning, then I can go for a run after work instead.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear

Leave a Reply

