Update #6

This is the earliest that I’ve managed to write a monthly update since the New Year! I normally eventually get round to writing this post by the end of the first week of the month or slightly later- the 2nd is a new record for me.

I mentioned in my previous update that my sister got married on 6th June. We had the best of the British summer on that day- it was glorious and beautiful all day long, what one would expect the summer to be like. Since then it’s been a bit downhill with the weather; fingers crossed that it’s ideal next Sunday when it’s the Race for Life.

I did pretty well with my training for the Race for Life last month. I ran 10km twice, both of which I completed in just under an hour. I’ve managed to get down the gym more often recently, focusing on high intense cardio workouts, and even machine weights. I was actually a bit vigorous yesterday morning at the gym when I decided to have a go at rowing. Rowing is an excellent form of cardio. I only managed to do 1km in 10 minutes, and I ended up with a few calluses on my right hand (my thighs are feeling a slight burn still today).

I mentioned very recently in my post ‘Wake up call‘ that I want to lose some weight. I’m at the heaviest weight I’ve been for a few years and after trying on a pair of summer trousers last weekend which didn’t fit, I knew I had to act. I’ve lost two pounds this week, which is a good start! I focused on my eating habits in the workplace this week by cutting down on the amount of snacks I consume during the day. I realised that I had gotten into the habit of snacking a lot since starting this job in February. I now need to focus on my meal portions by gradually cutting them down and eating slower too, and I should be well on my way to shifting off some more body weight.

13533005_10153763551880954_3711181889389438716_n

The image above is a small blackboard in my room. The bottom left number is the amount of pounds I have lost this week, and the number on the bottom right hand side is the amount I’d like to lose this week. Therefore I’m aiming to lose three pounds this week, so hopefully next Saturday morning I will weight 15.11.

I wrote a brief guest post for Viral Feminism last month, which was an update on the high heel petition set up by Nicola Thorp. I received an email from the Petitions team at the UK Government and Parliament, stating that they will be looking into the issue of high heels in the workplace. I think it will be a while before we hear anything else about this issue, since the result of the EU referendum and the Conservatives looking for their next leader and Prime Minister is dominating politics and the news at the moment in the UK.

Poetry wise, June was an exciting month! I volunteered to be the Speed Poet at Find The Right Words on Wednesday 15th June. The Speed Poet writes a poem based on topics suggested by the audience during the first half of the evening (about an hour). I was nervous at first but once I started writing, the words just flowed and I managed to write a poem called ‘It’s a confusing time to be alive‘.

I also wrote another poem this month called ‘People are quick to assume when you’re a feminist‘. I had been wanting to write a poem about how feminists are stereotyped and how, in the 21st century, we are still having to defend ourselves for what we are aiming for, which is gender equality. I’ve been invited to read at a poetry night at De Montfort University on 26th July, so I would like to read this new feminist poem, and potentially my speed poem as well.

I’ve got another busy month ahead with various things going on, including the Race for Life, the poetry night and I’m off to Barcelona for a short break at the end of July, which I’m really looking forward too!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear

Leave a Reply

