Braunstone parkrun

Three weeks ago I participated in my first parkrun when I was on holiday in Guernsey. Yesterday I decided to try out my second parkrun at Braunstone park near my hometown. I’m so glad that I went- it was a great success and the people at the run seemed friendly.

As mentioned in my post about my trip to Guernsey, the parkrun is a 5km course which happens at 9am every Saturday around the world. Anyone can participate. All you have to do is register online and then you are given a unique barcode, which is scanned at the end of the race. An email is then sent to you later in the day with your finishing time and position.

You can run in any race you like. You can set a parkrun as your home run, so Braunstone is my home run, but then you can run in any other race around the world, which is pretty cool!

The route around Braunstone park is lovely. I ran around a small part of the park once last year, but I saw much nicer parts of it yesterday, including a small lake where swans and goslings were watching us run past! There’s also a hall in the middle of the park which I never knew about until yesterday.

13322175_10153703069240954_4859133498916543643_n
Braunstone Hall

I was pleasantly surprised at how many people were at the run. There was a total of 342 runners, all made up with a mixture of ages and abilities. There were people running with their dogs and parents running with prams! There were parents with young children running along as well.

13327389_10153703068825954_3474937535342427340_n
At the finish line

My first Braunstone parkrun and my second ever parkrun resulted in my personal best so far. I finished the 5km route in 34 minutes and 8 seconds and came in 292nd place. I’m pleased with myself. I must admit I had to work hard at keeping my pace right as it was tempting to run fast at the start to keep up with the faster runners. However, I took it steady when I needed to most, and as usual, I completed the route without having to stop.

I really enjoyed doing the parkrun yesterday. It makes a nice change to run with more people and it’s definitely a motivator to continue with running. The last time I went for a run was in Guernsey. I need to pick up my game a bit more now, especially since I’ve got my second 10km Race for Life on Sunday 10th July. I think I’m feeling more relaxed this year because I know I can easily do 10km, but I’d like to do it in 1 hour this time.

However, I’ve still got my toughest fitness challenge coming up in October… the half marathon in Leicester! I’ve not had a chance to do more running further than 10km yet, except for the 14.5km route that I did. I think I will focus more on this after I’ve done the Race for Life.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Clare Bear

One thought on “Braunstone parkrun

Leave a Reply

