The fastest 10km yet!

My face is still warm, my legs are aching but most of all, I’ve surprised myself. I went out for a run after church this morning with the intention of running 10km as fast as I could. The fastest I had ran 10km was in 1 hour and 8 minutes, which was not long before I did the Race for Life in July 2015. It was the first time I got a stitch as well and I had to walk for a while.

Today, I ran 10km in 1 hour and 2 minutes! I’m absolutely thrilled, as I was expecting to do it in the fastest time I did it in previously. I felt a bit of a stitch, but it wasn’t so painful that I had to walk it off. I’m also surprised because I’m almost a stone heavier than I was when I did the Race for Life, and I beat my time by almost 10 minutes! I’m still debunking the myth that you have to be thin to be fit.

Before and after
Before 10km and after 10km

Of course I won’t be able to run that fast when I do the half marathon in October, otherwise I’d really struggle to finish 13 miles (21km), unless I really push myself and aim to do the half marathon in 2 hours! It’s probably possible, since you can train your body to do anything if you work at it, but it would mean a lot of work and continuous effort on my part.

With just over 6 months to go, I could probably do it. However, my main focus at the moment is to be able to run a half marathon non-stop, which was my aim for my first 10km race last year. I wasn’t concerned with time, although I would like to have a go at beating my time of 1 hour and 11 minutes at last year’s Race for Life. I reckon I could do it in an hour, I was only 2 minutes off today!

I’m going to relax now this afternoon with a nice roast Sunday dinner to look forward to. I feel pretty hungry after running pretty fast!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

One thought on “The fastest 10km yet!

Leave a Reply

