Happy Easter!

Happy Easter everyone! Hope you are all having a nice time whether you celebrate it or not, and maybe you’ve been eating lots of chocolate and hot cross buns. I’ve certainly had quite a few hot cross buns myself, and chocolate of course.

Yesterday saw the end of lent, and I have been eating meat again. As mentioned in my recent blog, I had bacon in hot cross buns for breakfast on Easter Sunday morning. It was actually quite nice. One of the hot cross buns had a hint of apple in, which tasted great with the bacon (since pork and apple is a nice combination).

12928272_10153560637060954_8564072927595317712_n
Bacon in hot cross buns

Yesterday my family had friends over for dinner. We had lamb covered in rosemary with roast potatoes (some sweet ones too), roasted vegetables and peas. I must admit, the lamb tasted wonderful. Lamb is one of my favourite meats for a Sunday roast, with a little bit of mint sauce too.

10403599_10153560636935954_734065296334446_n
Before cooking (I forgot to take an after photo!)

I was supposed to be going to a lovely small seaside resort today called Hunstanton, but the weather forecast looked bleak, and it was actually snowing when I first woke up this morning! Britain seems to have experienced all four seasons in the space of the long Easter weekend, with the addition of Storm Katie, because we’ve started naming storms now. I’m quite glad I haven’t gone out for the day, because I went to meet some of my friends back from university for the holiday. We had brunch at an Italian restaurant called Bella Italia, and I had a breakfast pizza which was tasty, but I couldn’t finish it because it was so filling! The pizza had a tomato base with fresh tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon, sausage and a fried egg on top.

12418057_10153560636620954_8992132203564688031_n
Breakfast Pizza

Lent seems to have flown by this year; it doesn’t seem five minutes since I stopped eating meat for a long period of time. I feel that I’ve eaten a lot of meat since yesterday, and my stomach knows it too. This doesn’t mean to say that I dislike eating meat again; I want to get back into eating it because I do like it. Pulled pork is one of my favourites! I gave up meat for the first time last year and since then, I aim to only have meat for one meal of the day. I don’t eat as much meat as I used to before I gave it for the first time last year, and I feel better in myself for it.

What about you bloggers and readers? Do any of you give up meat for lent, or have given it up completely? Do you think you could give up meat completely, or couldn’t you live without it?

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

One thought on “Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

