A “fit” week

I wrote a blog recently on adaptability, in regards to fitness and my new full-time job as a copywriter. I mentioned that I would aim to get down to the gym during the week and consider walking to work. I’m glad to say that I managed to go to the gym twice during the week, both during the early morning, and I felt much better for it while I was at work.

In order to go to the gym and get to work on time, I have to drive to the gym. Therefore a good way of getting myself up at 6:30am rather than 7:30am is to park my car on the very front of the drive. This means that I have to get up early and leave before my dad, which is at 7:10am, as my car is in such a place where it blocks my parent’s cars.

Wednesday was the first day I went to the gym in the morning. I started exercising at 7am, and was cautious of the time because I didn’t know what the traffic would be like from the gym to work. I spent 45 minutes on a cross trainer, but it was different from the ones I have used before. It’s a tougher work out because you push down harder and the leg motion isn’t as circular. I can’t describe it very well- I probably should’ve took a picture of the cross trainer! Anyway, according to the machine, I burned about 650 calories, which is great.

By the time I showered, changed and was about to drive past my house, it was only 8:15am. There was hardly any traffic, since I was driving away from Leicester city centre; for people driving into town, it was a different story. I drive past my house after the gym to get to work, and when I’m not at the gym, I don’t have to leave home until 8:35am to drive to work. So I had breakfast at home.

Therefore on Friday, I was a bit more lenient and decided to run for an hour on a treadmill. I was so proud of myself, as I almost ran 8km! I turned up the speed for the last minute, but I reached 7.98km when the hour was up. I ran 8.5km/h for the majority of the run, and increased the speed to 9km/h for the final 11 minutes. This is really good progress, since the fastest I have ran 10km so far is 1 hour and 8 minutes.

I got to work for 8:35am, which gave me plenty of time to have breakfast and a cup of tea before starting at 9am. My face was red for a while, even after having a shower at the gym. I have noticed that across my upper cheeks they stay red for a while after I’ve completed a long-distance run, but it dies down after time.

I didn’t get a chance to walk to work and back this week, as I had a few busy weeknights, but at least I got down to the gym twice. I’d like to have a go at walking at least once this week- I’m considering Tuesday at the moment as I haven’t got anything planned for the evening.

Other good news- I am starting to lose body weight again! I lost 2 pounds this week, so I’m at 15.7 stone. I did reach 15.12 recently which scared me, since I weighed 15.9 stone when I went to the doctors about a month ago. Looks like I’m getting back on track!

I also treated myself to a decent pair of running shoes yesterday. They cost £31 (reduced from £43) and are Adidas running trainers. They were the first pair I tried on in the shop, but I did try on another 7 pairs! I didn’t realise that there is so much choice of running shoes, but I bought the pair which I thought were most suited for my purpose.

20160227_170519
My beautiful new running shoes!

The trainers have a slightly raised heel at the back and when you walk in them, you can really feel support and a bit of a bounce from the heel. Out of all the shoes I tried on, these ones gave me the most support, and I thought they would be the most durable for running long distances outside. Since I am training to run my first half marathon in October this year, I believed it was time to invest in my fitness and get myself a good pair of trainers. I also believe the shoes will be a good motivator. I can’t wait to have a go at running in them!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

2 thoughts on “A “fit” week

Leave a Reply

