Fishy pasta bake (2)

Last year during the period of lent (when I abstained from eating meat), I experimented with white fish by making a fish pasta bake. My dad liked it so much that he wanted it again, so I made the dish but with variations from the last one I made, including adding some squid!

I actually cooked this fish pasta bake last Saturday, but I’ve only just gotten round to writing about it now. Rest assured, my memory of Saturday night is still intact and looking at the photos reminded me of what ingredients I used.

Firstly, as standard with a lot of my savoury dishes, I chopped two white onions and two cloves of garlic, which were then fried in oil until they started to soften. I then added chopped courgette and celery to the pan and cooked on a medium heat for about five minutes.

20160213_181823
It looks quite green

While the vegetables were cooking, I sliced two fillets of white fish and one prepared squid into chunks, then added to the pan. The white fish my dad buys breaks down into little flakes, while the squid’s shape remainsedintact. This gave the pasta bake varied textures which was nice. I also added some sweetcorn into the mix to give a bit more variety of colour.

20160213_181835
I feel fishy
20160213_182656
This looks somewhat Chinesey at the moment

When the fish and squid were cooked, I poured in two tins of chopped tomatoes and left to simmer while I prepared some pasta. I only cooked the pasta for half of the recommended cooking time as I put it in the oven later.

20160213_184043
The tomatoes only just poured in

I used tagliatelle just because I fancied it. Any pasta works well in a pasta bake. After draining the pasta I stirred it well into the fish mixture and placed in a large ovenproof dish.

20160213_185639
Before the oven

The fishy pasta went in the oven for 15 minutes at gas mark 5. I then sprinkled some grated parmesan cheese over the pasta and baked for another 5 minutes.

20160213_191924
After the oven!

It’s been a week already since I’ve given up meat for lent for the second year running! I’ve eaten a lot of fish, different kinds of beans and more vegetables. I even tried making a Lentil Bolognese for the first time, which went reasonably well (it tasted more like a vegetable stew, but it was still nice). I really enjoyed this fish pasta bake; it was packed full of flavour and different textures.

20160213_192113

If any of you have any suggestions of vegetarian dishes to try, then please do let me know! I’m very keen to try out new foods.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

Leave a Reply

