Back to square one

I went to the doctors last Saturday and saw a reading of my weight, which I haven’t seen for about a month. It’s not good news, as I’m almost back to when I started changing my diet and improving my fitness two years ago. The scales read around 101kg, which is about 15.9 stone. Back in 2014 I weight 15.11 stone, although I did change my diet a week before I got a pair of scales through the post, so I might’ve been closer to 16 stone.

body-weight-scale
How I felt at the doctors!

It’s been a difficult road trying to lose body weight and refrain from putting it back on again. If you’re really determined, losing body weight and body fat can be easy, but keeping it off is a real challenge. I’ve mentioned before in posts that I was living away from home when I changed my lifestyle. I was just looking after myself and occasionally cooked for my house mates, which made it much easier to lose weight. Coming back home and retaining these changes was very difficult, and it’s clearly not worked since I’m almost back at square one.

back-to-square-one-conceptual-road-signs-indicating-u-turn-symbol-34364956

However, I’m not the same as I was this time two years ago. Training for my first 10km race last year meant that I developed certain muscles, especially on my upper thighs. Gaining muscle means you’ll gain a bit of weight, but it’s not unhealthy body weight since it’s muscle, not fat. I’ve not been running as much since doing the Race for Life, but my muscles are still there and I’ve been doing alternative workouts at the gym on a weekly basis.

Secondly, I also consider myself a lot healthier than I was two years ago. I make more of an effort to eat more nutritious food including fruit and vegetables, and I never really ate salads until I changed my eating habits. In addition I drink a lot more water than I used to and refrain from consuming carbonated drinks at home, such as coke and lemonade.

And thirdly, I fit into smaller sized clothes than I did two years ago, despite almost being the same weight. Two years ago I would wear size 18-20 clothing and 38C sized bras. Now I wear 16-18 clothing and 36B bras. I noticed over time that my figure changed while losing weight and saw where areas of body fat were becoming diminished. Since being back at home I’ve noticed where the gained body weight/fat has been distributed on my body, which is different to two years ago. Unfortunately I have gained body fat around my arms, more than I have before (I’ve noticed that from looking at photos). However, my belly isn’t as large as it was two years ago.

So despite being almost at a previous body weight at the moment, I’m not getting myself stressed or upset about it. While I am annoyed at myself for putting excess body weight back on, I’m pleased that I can consider myself healthier and fitter than I was two years ago. I’ve become more aware of what it takes to be healthy and live a good lifestyle. One of my goals for this year is to lose 2 stone by my sister’s wedding in June. That should be achievable, as I almost lost that much body weight by June 2014.

I’ve been looking into dates for races and I’m definitely going to run at the 10km Race for Life again. I really enjoyed it last year and I raised a lot of money for Cancer Research UK. It’ll also give me an opportunity to beat my previous time of 1 hour and 11 minutes. I’ve also found a date for a half marathon in Leicester, which takes place on Sunday 23rd October this year. This gives me plenty of time to train, since it will be about double the distance of one Race for Life. This definitely makes me nervous, as it will be the biggest challenge of my life so far in terms of fitness!

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

7 thoughts on “Back to square one

  1. Maintenance starts in the BRAIN. You must keep your mind focused on the game plan rather than simply looking to achieve a certain body weight. Long term results comes from accepting and practicing a balanced LIFESTYLE, not simply eating habits. You should be very proud of all you have already accomplished. It will likely be an ongoing challenge, but one you will come to respond to more easily with continued experience. If you have any questions, I will gladly offer recommendations. You have signed on to follow my blog site which offers many important steps to follow in achieving long term REALISTIC lifestyle changes. Never hesitate if you need help. Congratulations again on all you have accomplished.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

