The start of another year

Happy New Year bloggers and readers! 2016 has soon come round and before we know it, it will be 2017…

It has been my first time blogging around Christmas and the New Year, since it will be in March this year when I will have been blogging for a year! I’m so glad that I’ve been keeping my blog going as I really enjoy writing and reading what other interesting and fascinating bloggers have to say.

We all know it is traditional to set New Year’s resolutions at the start of each year. The most common ones include join a gym to lose weight, smoke/drink less, eat less biscuits, chocolate, sweets etc. I quite like thinking about what I want to achieve at the start of each new year since a fresh start can be motivational. However, as most people know, it can be difficult to keep the resolutions going after a month, or even a few weeks!

One reason for resolutions not being kept is because they might be unreasonably achievable. For example, someone immediately cutting down the amount of cigarettes they have will not work for the long-term. You have to cut down gradually in order for your goal to work in the long-term. The same applies to dieting. You can’t just immediately give up eating chocolate and biscuits; everyone needs a treat now and again.

Another reason for resolutions not working is because it is challenging to make it into a habit. Once something becomes a habit, you are accustomed and it is easier to do whatever it is. Making yourself go to the gym once or twice a week if you’re not used to it will at first seem like a chore, but once you are used to going, then going to the gym will seem natural, a habit.

I asked my boyfriend to buy me a organiser/filofax for Christmas. I wanted one because I like to keep myself organised, and an organiser helps with this. Plus it will make me feel professional. The last part of the organiser has a ‘To-do’ section, which is where I have written my ‘Goals for 2016’.

1969382_10153370758400954_5937314762412354843_n The goals are as follows:

  1. Find a full-time graduate job.
  2. Lose 2 stone by my sister’s wedding.
  3. Run a half marathon.
  4. Become more involved in poetry.
  5. Write one poem a week.
  6. Become more involved in feminism.
  7. Join a large choir.

Regular readers of my blog will know that I recently finished a Masters in English Studies, so I am currently looking for a graduate job. I have been carrying on with my role as a note taker since finishing university, which I enjoy but I need to find a job that is not based within a university, because I still feel like a student.

I haven’t weighed myself for a while, which is very naughty of me, but I know it won’t be good when I get on the scales. I always put on weight over the festive season, but I put some on beforehand. However, I have my sister’s wedding in June this year, which will be a good motivator. In addition, I have decided my next jogging challenge is to complete a half marathon! I still feel proud that I jogged 10km in June last year, so I want to take it even further and do twice the distance. This will also help me to lose body weight and burn the fat. I just need to decide which half marathon to go for. There is one in a town called Market Harborough in June, a week after my sister’s wedding, and one in October in Leicester. Would it be better to go for the earlier or later date? I better start training soon to see which one will be best for me.

I’ve mentioned before that one of my life goals is to become a published poet. I’ve posted poems on this blog which seem to be well received, so I recently set up a new blog called ‘Poclaretry’. I haven’t had a chance to get it going yet, but I will hopefully post a new poem a week, as another one of my goals is to write a poem a week. If I really want to become a poet, I need to write a lot more than I do now, which is not very often. I think I’ve set a reasonable target, and it will eventually become a habit. While this may sound a mechanical way of going about creativity, I guess it will become more free flowing. Another way of becoming more poetic is to attend open mics and find poetry groups. I went to a few open mic nights in Leicester last year and read some of my works, so I’d like to make that a regular thing and join a group that meets to discuss and suggest ideas for their own poetry.

While I have written a lot of feminist blogs, I’m not really that involved in anything to do with feminism. I’ve become a guest blogger on a website called ‘Viral Feminism’ but I’ve not written anything yet. Viral Feminism follows the trends online concerning gender equality. I’ve written a lot on sex/gender equality, so I’d like to become more involved with Viral Feminism. But I don’t want to be just involved in feminism through words; I want to join a group, advocating for equality between the sexes/genders. I enjoyed participating in ‘Reclaim the Night‘ last year and I’d like to join in more feminist demonstrations/rallies.

The last goal on my list is to join a large choir. While I was an undergraduate I was a soprano in the Hertfordshire Chorus, which I thoroughly enjoyed and felt proud to be part of. The equivalent in Leicester is the Philharmonic Choir, which regularly performs in a lovely venue called the De Montfort Hall and sings the same sort of music as the Hertfordshire Chorus. I still sing in my local church choir every Sunday, but I want to be part of something much bigger as well.

So there you have it. I believe that my goals/resolutions for 2016 are reasonable. I will certainly have a lot to blog about since I can keep those of you interested updated in how I get on.

 

As always, happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear 🙂

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “The start of another year

Leave a Reply

