Blown away

I’ve got three weeks of work now (YAY!!), which means time for celebrating Christmas and the New Year, making mince pies and other sweet treats, but also time to keep up the exercise.

My dad’s off work as well now, so I went for a nice walk with him and the dogs yesterday morning. I probably should’ve gone for a jog instead, as the weather was much better.

When my dad got back this morning from walking the dogs, I noticed that it was rather windy outside. I decided not to let this dissuade me; I’ve jogged in the rain before so the wind can’t be that bad, surely?

It was great at first. The wind was keeping me cool and didn’t bother me that much. However, as soon as I reached the half way point of my 6km run and started jogging back home in the opposite direction, I felt the full force of the wind!

tumblr_mes5xsjapc1s01ycqo1_1280
From the loft above

The wind was really strong and my eyes were watering. To make matters worse, my iPod died! I find it boring to jog without listening to music as it motivates me. The music might have helped me fight my way through the wind.

In a way, it was a good workout since I had a force against me and I had to push myself harder to jog in the weather conditions. The route wasn’t all that bad as some areas were more covered than others by trees so I wasn’t jogging all the way back home with the wind in my face.

I won’t be in a hurry though to jog again in the wind! At least the wind wasn’t really cold this morning. In the UK it’s currently unseasonably warm for this time of year. If the weather was as it should be in December this morning, then I wouldn’t have worn my 3/4 Lycra trousers and a short-sleeved t shirt. The wind would’ve been bitterly cold so I would’ve worn tracksuit bottoms and a jacket (maybe gloves as well).

The next element to try jogging in now is snow (if we get any in the UK!).

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

 

2 thoughts on “Blown away

Leave a Reply

