Christmas Mentality

It’s almost that time of year where people are expected to stuff themselves like a turkey. All of the glorious food not just prepared on Christmas day, but in the weeks that build up the festive excitement, means that it is a difficult time of year for those who are dieting. Even a month before the 25th December it is not uncommon to already have eaten a traditional Christmas dinner with a Christmas pudding caked in brandy sauce.

turkey

The advertisements are not in a dieter’s favour, with scrumptious desserts to make this Christmas even more special. Boxes upon boxes of mince pies, shortbread and chocolates are stacked at the entrance and all around supermarkets with offers such as buy one get one free, shouting out ‘Buy me now’. It doesn’t help nowadays that shops prepare themselves for Christmas earlier each year, stocking on sweet treats months in advance. Of course the trick there is to encourage you to buy them so that you are tempted to eat them before Christmas, so that you have to buy more nearer the time!

I confess, my weakness at Christmas is mince pies, but I am rarely swayed each year to eat one before December. It is difficult for me to only have one mince pie, I normally end up eating two with a cup of tea. The ones that I really like are topped with white icing rather than a pastry lid, which adds even more sweetness. The same applies to biscuits and chocolates from a selection box; I eat more than one at a time.

download

It is natural and expected for people to put on weight over Christmas, since the weather is colder and we need to keep ourselves warm. However, food is eaten in excessive amounts to the point where people put on more weight than they bargained for. Hence why there is always an increase in gym memberships every January, due to New Year’s Resolutions and gyms advertising to fight the fat.

A mentality I have not just at Christmas, but during other occasions and parties in the year is that I might not get to have or try this food any time soon. My greatest weakness in this case is desserts, where there is more than one available at the table. I often end up having more than one helping, feeling really full afterwards. Then of course chocolate mints and mince pies are served after dessert, uncomfortably expanding the stomach even more than it really needs to because it’s Christmas.

ChristmasTreeVegetablePlatter
Maybe these should be served up more often at Christmas parties!

As expected, I always put on the pounds in December, which is also aided by recent birthday celebrations, including my own and my mother’s. However this year, I want to change my Christmas and party mentality by altering my eating habits. First off I will aim to only eat a maximum of two mince pies or biscuits during the day. I will also lower my chocolate intake by eating only the advent chocolate until Christmas day and if there is a selection box lying around at home or someone else’s house, then I will just eat one of those.

At the end of the day, dieting and losing body weight is all about eating sensibly. While Christmas is a great challenge for many people trying to maintain their weight, it is a time of year to treat oneself and be treated by others. You can still enjoy yourself, just exercise moderation.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear 🙂

Leave a Reply

