Blogger Recognition Award

blogger-recognition-award

A big thank you to Lisa Villaume for nominating me for the Blogger Recognition Award. I feel honoured to have been nominated for three awards in the space of 8 months!

So, how did Clare Bear come about? For a long time I had no idea what I wanted to blog about. Some of my university friends were blogging in order to add something to their CV, but they blogged and continue to blog about things they like. This is crucial to make a blog genuine and interesting to read.

But then it hit me, four months before I would jog 10km at the Race for Life in aid of Cancer Research UK. I decided to set up my blog in order to keep track of my progress in becoming fitter and being able to jog my first longish distance run non-stop. I hoped that blogging would act as a form of motivation, and I’m grateful for the comments of encouragement I received from bloggers during my training. The good news is that I completed the Race for Life on Sunday 5th July 2015, non-stop and in a decent time of 1 hour and 11 minutes!

It was during my training that I was also practising being a vegetarian for the period of lent. I posted homemade vegetarian recipes, trying out new flavours and defeating the conceptions that being a vegetarian is boring and there is limited choice. I also saw my blog as a great platform for exploring issues in society and writing feminist articles. And I like to write poetry as well; one of my life goals is to publish my own collection of poetry!

With so many things to blog about, I changed my tagline a few months ago to ‘A Feminist Fitness Foodie served with creativity on the side’, so that bloggers know what I write about and what to expect if they wish to become a follower.

I enjoyed reading Lisa’s post in response to her nomination. I particularly like the advice for bloggers that she has given, such as being consistent. I generally post blogs whenever I am free to write one, sometimes delaying its publication on my blog so that lots of posts don’t appear at the same time. I might start blogging on certain days of the week so that bloggers know when to expect content.

So here are my two pieces of advice to new and upcoming bloggers:

Know what you want to write about

As I’ve stated already, I didn’t start my blog until I knew what to write about. If you write on lots of different topics, your followers and other bloggers won’t know what to expect. That is why I changed my tagline, so that people know what I post about. Your followers will lose interest if you blog about topics they don’t expect.   

Learn how to use WordPress

I must admit, I’m still learning now how to efficiently use WordPress. I’ve recently set up pages which I didn’t know how to do and learnt how to use the customising tools so you can add lots of funky stuff to your site (aka widgets). Making your site look attractive and professional will encourage more people to read your content.

Of course my advice is dependent on what the purpose of your blog is. While I am blogging about topics that I enjoy and like to write about, I also set up my blog in order to add more to my CV and bulk up my writing experience. I would like a graduate job that involves creating new content and writing, such as copywriting.

Here are 15 bloggers I would like to nominate for the award:

readabitofeverything

Kate on Conservation

Cloud Mercury

Running While Fat

A Venturing Girl

Keeping Food in the Friend Zone

The Ninth Life

Thoughtlibrarian

Foodie Thailand

Food Fellowship and Wine

Bites of Food History

James D. Ward

Academic Epileptic

An Honest Mom

greenmindvegheart

If you blog appears in the above list, here are the rules of the Blogger Recognition Award:

  1. Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you
  2. Give a brief story of how your blog got started
  3. Give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers
  4. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog
  5. List those you’ve nominated in the post and comment on their blogs to let them know you’ve nominated them.

As always, happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

One thought on “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

