First spin class

This morning I ventured into an intense form of exercise known as the dreaded ‘spin’, which I had never tried before for several reasons. The first being the representation of it in media, such as the films Bridget Jones and Run Fatboy Run. I much prefer walking and jogging to cycling, and bicycle seats are rather uncomfortable!

film_fat-boy
It looks so tiring!

Today I decided to put these preconceptions at the back of my mind and give it a go at my local gym. I’ve only been able to get to the gym a few times since working full-time, so I need to use the weekends as a prime opportunity. There are many classes throughout the week at different times of the day, but Saturdays 11-11:45am is ideal for me at the moment.

12191875_10153264376135954_890418327543746310_n
Ready for a good old spin

There’s a lovely large studio at the gym where most classes take place, including Zumba. There were only two spare bikes left over when the class started and it was nice to see some men, as Zumba only seems to attract women.

I have to admit, I didn’t expect there to be more than just spinning at the class. The instructor shouted away to do arm stretches and stand while cycling as well! On every bike there are red knobs which you turn anti-clockwise to reduce the intensity, and vice versa to increase the resistance. The instructor would shout ‘Turn it up 3 to the right’, ‘Turn it down half to the left’ etc. While the instructor doesn’t know what intensity you are spinning at, I pushed myself and tried to spin at a higher intensity when I could.

12191311_10153264375850954_5847267206999549643_o
Sweat to style my hair!

I was drenched in sweat afterwards and my legs hate stairs at the moment. I’m dreading the morning when my legs will ache even more, but the class was worth it. I’d definitely like to go to another spin class, despite my legs, hands and bum hurting during the class! I will grow accustomed to it, and this form of intense exercise will help with losing body fat and increasing the strength of my legs to complete longer distance runs.

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

One thought on “First spin class

Leave a Reply

