Mushroom and leek stuffed peppers

My father was rather looking forward to dinner tonight, as I used the Jim Beam BBQ marinade that I got as a freebie last Sunday to cover a couple of pork ribs and some chicken. He didn’t expect what I served alongside the marinated meat though. He said that really liked the taste of the mushroom and leek pepper, which I decided to make as an alternative to standard vegetables that I would’ve otherwise served.

As usual when I have made stuffed peppers, I cut the tops off, took out the seeds and placed the peppers in a pan of boiling water to soften for about 10 minutes. I used yellow peppers for a change tonight; the natural sweetness from the peppers contributed nicely to the overall taste.

20150902_165746
Perfect peppers in a pan

While the peppers were softening, I melted some butter in a pan and cooked two finely chopped cloves of garlic. I then finely chopped a leek and some mushrooms, which were added to the garlic and left to soften.

20150902_171410
Finely chopped leeks
20150902_172444
Garlic, leeks and mushrooms

I spontaneously decided to make a cheese sauce, so that the pepper filling had a bit more substance, but to add even more taste as well. I heated about 200ml of milk and added a tablespoon of plain flour. Using a whisk I combined the flour into the milk, then left on a medium heat. I cubed some mild cheddar cheese and stirred it into the sauce. When everything was combined, I poured the sauce into the pepper filling.

20150902_173149
It tasted nicer than it looks!

I divided the mixture evenly into the hollow peppers, placed the tops of the peppers back on and cooked in the oven at gas mark 5 for about 30 minutes.

20150902_173520
One has got its top off!

I also served the meat and stuffed peppers with some mash potato. The stuffed peppers were very different compared to the ones I have made previously, as there was a lot more liquid. It was oozing out of the lids when I first took them out of the oven. If I added more milk to the sauce I think it would have become too liquidy, so I had achieved the right consistency. The filling tasted like mushroom soup to me, which I liked very much.

20150902_182826
A lovely weekday evening meal

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

Leave a Reply

