Slightly worried but determined!

If there’s something I do too much of in life, it’s worrying! I can’t help it- it’s who I am and I take after my mother for it. I think I have a right to be worried about the Race for Life on Sunday though, because I have muscle pain in my thighs, just above my knees!

This pain started to occur on Wednesday when I went out for the day with my mum for a break from my dissertation. We went to a tourist attraction called the Heights of Abraham in a gorgeous town called Matlock Bath. You can either go on a cable car and see stunning views of the Derbyshire Valley as you go up, or you can walk up steep hills; of course we opted for the cable car!

11666110_10153031551990954_2025472397629796576_n
Matlock Bath

On the other side there is a tower which has a narrow stone staircase with small steps, but the view from the top is worth it. However, going down the steps was quite difficult, especially because when I decided to go down, lots of people were coming up. So I had to scuttle over to the thinnest part of the step and place my hands for support on the pillar in the middle of the tower.

11667498_10153031552060954_800580532551740265_n
The pain was worth it for the view!

When I eventually reached the bottom my legs were starting to hurt. To make the pain worse, I ended up going down a cavern to walk through an old mine. It was a refreshing tour as it was 7 degrees down there, while it was over 30 degrees outside in the heatwave! There were points where you had to walk down a slope that was damp and hold on to some hand rails; I didn’t want to slip so I was holding on tight and walking slowly down these slopes.

After the tour when you were back outside, there was yet another stunning view, but to get back to the main attractions, you had to walk down some steep slopes. My thighs were feeling it and for the past few days, they have felt achy, particularly when walking up and down stair/slopes.

I don’t really walk up and down steep slopes that much, so that’s probably why my legs ache. The pain isn’t so bad now and I’m going to have a bath tonight with Radox muscle soak . My dad has products which he uses for aching muscles and he said that once I start jogging on Sunday, the pain should subside and not feel so bad. I haven’t had a chance to go out for a jog this week due to various things, but I still feel confident for Sunday despite my achy legs.

I don’t think I’ll be able to blog about the Race for Life until the end of the following week. After the race I’ll be heading down to Hertfordshire to stay over where my boyfriend lives, and then early the following morning we’ll be off to Berlin for a mini break, our first holiday together! I’ve never been to Germany before, so I am really excited and of course, I will write a blog about it!

Thank you to everyone for your support and for sponsoring me for the Race for Life- I’ve been overwhelmed by people’s generosity and words of support for Sunday. I won’t let you down!

If you want to sponsor, you can do on my justgiving page: https://www.justgiving.com/clareabbott5 

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

4 thoughts on “Slightly worried but determined!

  1. If your leg still hurts before the race you shouldn’t race because it may lead to further damage. If the pain goes away but it will resurface while you are racing then you should stop. It’s not the end of the world if you miss it and one can’t take chances with health. Let’s be honest your health is much more important than the race. The pain could be due to different movements while you went up and down the slopes or it could be that without realising you are over trained to prepare for the race so the muscles or joints were a bit sensitive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

