Quick update

It’s been a while since I posted a blog about my fitness and health, and a little while since I’ve posted something (well, only 5 days ago but I normally publish 2-3 blogs a week).

8 more sleeps left until the big day- the Race for Life! I’ve blogged about this a lot, but if you don’t know about it, then you can read the blog called Lucky to be alive.

It is crazy how quick it is coming round and I have been through a roller coaster of emotions throughout my training: self-doubt, when it has been strenuous and difficult; being ‘on top of the world’, when jogging has been successful and feeling easier to accomplish; and most importantly, confidence, which is what I’m feeling right now!

Since I have been aiming to improve my fitness, my self-confidence has grown massively. I am able to jog in public without wondering what people think of me. I can do weights at the gym without being concerned about my body around others who are fitter than myself. I feel great!

I am confident that I will be able to jog 10km non-stop next Sunday. Despite not knowing the route, I have an idea of where I will be jogging. I am not aiming for a particular time to complete the distance in, but my best time so far, on a particular route, has been 1 hour and 8 minutes, so it would be nice to finish the Race for Life close to that time.

I must admit, while training has been going well, my dieting and weight loss is another story. Again my body weight is being the peculiar entity that a lot of people may be able to sympathize with. This week I have been rubbish with my diet, but I have lost 2 pounds. Other weeks I have done rather well, but gained a pound or two! However, I am still happy that I am a stone lighter than I was over a year ago, and I have no intention of putting it back on!

What has surprised me most of all since I decided to up the ante, to jog 10km rather than the alternative 5km Race for Life, is that despite being overweight, I now consider myself as fitter. I always considered myself unfit and since joining the gym last year in March, my body has gone through a lot of changes. I lost 2 stone, then put a stone back on. I have a considerable build up of muscle on my arms where I have been trying to eliminate my ‘bingo wings’. And my thighs have developed more muscle through jogging on routes with varying gradients.

I will see how the Race for Life goes next Sunday, but I would like to continue jogging afterwards, and potentially participate in more races, and maybe even longer distances…

 

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

Leave a Reply

