10km!!!

For the first time ever, I have successfully jogged 10km non-stop on a treadmill! I completed the distance in a respectable time of 1 hour and 25 minutes.

11136746_10152873945885954_6716420236668582626_n
Drenched in sweat after completing the 10km jog!

I got to the gym for 7:30 this morning and was mentally prepared to take on the challenge. I had anticipated to have a go at jogging 10km at the start of the week, and finally got the chance to today.

A few months ago the furthest I managed to jog on the treadmill and had the time for was 7km, which I completed in just under an hour. My body ached and I knew I had a lot of work to do to be able to make the 10km without stopping.

First off to warm up, I did some leg and arm stretches and then brisk walking for three minutes on the treadmill before I set the speed to a slow jog at 6.5km/h. The last thing I want is to pull a muscle and injure myself while jogging.

After doing 2km, I set the speed to 7km/h and jogged at that speed for 3km. At the half way point, I then set the speed at 7.5km/h. I was thrilled by the end of the 10km that I was able to maintain that speed for half of the distance. When I jog on the treadmill I start at a slower pace and speed up gradually as my body becomes accustomed to the new speed.

When I first started jogging, I really surprised myself, as I thought that I would be out of breath quickly. However, I discovered that I am pretty good at maintaining my breathing, hence why I was able to jog 10km today.

I have proven to myself that I can jog 10km continuously, and feel more confident and excited about the Race for Life on Sunday 5th July.

I still have a way to go though. As expected, my body ached in particular areas afterwards, indicating where I need to build up muscle. My upper back, thighs and arms are the areas which were affected the most, so I need to do muscle building exercises in those areas.

I was surprised when I first started jogging that my arms ached, but you keep them above your waist while exercising, which means that they are kept in that position for a while (I have ‘bingo wings’ which I’m working on).

I also need to jog the distance outside. I have a route in mind where the gradient is varied. When I jog on the treadmill I keep the gradient flat. The route for the Race for Life is, I believe, mostly flat, but it will be good exercise and training to jog up and down slopes.

With 2 months and 11 days left to go until the Race for Life, I have time to continue my training, and also campaign for Cancer Research UK, the charity which the race raises money for. I know I’ve mentioned it already, but I will write a blog in the near future about the charity and my reasons for wanting to jog the 10km.

Thank you to all of my family and friends for your support so far, and also to all of you bloggers and readers out there. I’m grateful for the supportive comments I’ve had from bloggers in my journey to become fitter and healthier.

Happy reading and blogging,

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

6 thoughts on “10km!!!

    • Thanks 🙂
      There are TVs at the gym so I was watching the news and other programmes with the subtitles on, and there is also music on
      I listen to music when I jog outside to keep myself motivated, but the scenery, compared to the gym, is more interesting

      Like

Leave a Reply

