Another kind of ratatouille

As stated in my previous blog, I have decided to change my dieting habits, by eating vegetarian options on a regular basis, and meat only on occasion. I had a meat day today, but only had some scotch eggs with a picnic in the afternoon and a BBQ pulled pork burger for dinner.

Last night my family had a bolognese, while I made a vegetarian replica, more like ratatouille. I could have used Quorn mince to make a vegetarian bolognese (I’ve tried it in the past before, and it’s quite nice) but I’ve decided against it. Firstly, no one in the family buys Quorn and secondly, for me personally, I don’t see why vegetarians eat a substitute that looks like meat.

Moving on, as some of you will know, my dishes tend to vary each time I make them, as I use what there is in the house. This ratatouille I made last night had onions, butternut squash, courgettes, runner beans, chick peas, spinach, tinned tomatoes, mixed herbs and red wine.

20150414_172104
Some of the ingredients softening

I also experimented by cutting the vegetables differently to how I normally would. The courgettes were in long thick slices while the runner beans were just top and tailed. This added a bit more variety in texture and shape to the dish overall, as I generally chop up all of the vegetables into small chunks.

Everything in

I sliced the courgette first and left it on the side to dry out. After cutting and frying the onions, I added chopped butternut squash and runner beans. Once this had softened slightly, the courgette went in with half a tin of chick peas, spinach, a tin of chopped tomatoes, mixed herbs and a small splash of red wine. After leaving on the stove for about 10 minutes, it went in the oven on a low heat until it was ready to be served.

I ate this ratatouille with pasta, which worked well and tasted great overall. If any of you have suggestions of what to put in a ratatouille, or any other vegetarian recipes, then please do let me know in the comments.

20150414_185112

Happy reading and blogging,

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

6 thoughts on “Another kind of ratatouille

  1. Chick peas, spinach and runners beans seem to me not suitable for a ratatouille, but then is a question of individual taste. Like every dish the secret is to keep it simple and not to put too many ingredients and while being creative to keep it as near as possible to the traditional dish. If I had to make a different ratatouille I could add leeks or even potatoes cut in small cubes or slices. I don’t think that you need wine, usually one doesn’t put it in most vegetable dishes but it’s optional of course. As an herb I may also experiment by adding some caraway or fennel seeds to give it a slight taste of anise. When one uses tomatoes in a dish especially the tinned ones it’s good to add a tiny pinch of sugar to take away the acidity. To give it a stronger tomatoes taste I would also put a little tomatoes puree maybe only a teaspoon or two of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for contributing your suggestions 🙂
      I wasn’t sure what to name what I had made, and to me it resembled a ratatouille, just a different take on it
      It worked out well and tasted great to me 🙂
      Putting potatoes in sounds interesting- I reckon that would be more like a vegetable stew as I associate stews with potatoes
      The red wine added some extra taste and gave the dish more colour- like you said it’s optional
      I’ve never tried using sugar before with tomatoes, I’ll have to give that a try next time

      Like

      • Yes the potatoes are a bit unusual for a ratatouille as would be carrots. I just fancied the idea. As for the tiny pinch of sugar very few people know that all Italian add it to their tomatoes sauce when they cook pasta. Also Italians don’t normally use olive oil for cooking or frying but seed oil. The olive oil is used raw for instance in salads. Anyway Italy has its own version of ratatouille called Caponata which is a traditional Sicilian dish and its really nice. You can find many sites giving the recipe by googling it.

        Like

      • I’ve added carrots to a ratatouille before- they work pretty well
        That’s one of my preconceptions of Italians proven wrong, regarding the olive oil
        I’ll have to also check out Caponata- sounds nice 🙂

        Like

  2. Hi Clare, think you need to check up on nutrition – I seem to remember from my school days (a long long time ago..) that vegetarians need to eat pulses and grains at meals to provide full protein content so the chick peas would need to be eaten with wholemeal pasta… I also like a bit of grated cheese or feta with veg based meals and that would sort the protein and calcium intake! Think it’s really interesting the way you are taking a holistic approach to life, keep on with the blog Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your advice 🙂
      I forgot to mention in the post that I’m still eating fish, which is where I get protein from
      I will have some cheese now and again in the same way that you do xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

