Vegetarian curry mark 2 (feat. Spinach)

For Easter Sunday dinner today, my family and I with friends had a huge turkey roast dinner with all the trimmings; it felt like Christmas day (minus the crackers and party hats). Even though I have stated in previous blogs that I have not missed meat too much, the turkey with streaky bacon on top and apricot stuffing and sausage meat stuffed inside, it all tasted gorgeous!

As usual in our family, my parents prepared way too many vegetables, but we’ve always believed that it’s better to have too much than not enough. Instead of eating extra food in order to compensate like we did in the past, we save it for future meals. Quite often when I cook, I make extra in order to prepare lunches for work or evening dinner, useful for when there is only one person in the house some evenings. It’s also great for saving time when you’re in a rush and want to eat something at home.

There was a lot of broccoli, cauliflower and some carrots left over from the roast dinner, so I decided to make it up into another vegetarian curry, and this time I remembered to add the spinach. When I went to visit one of my friends a few years ago at their university, I had a vegetarian curry with cauliflower in, and it works really well.

So as usual, I fried onions until soft, and added some sliced fresh carrots, as I needed more of them just to make the ingredient quantities more even. I then added all of the vegetables and cooked for a few minutes.

Spinach is deceptive. The leaves are fairly large and when you first add them to a hot dish, you think you have more than enough. Pretty soon it all wilts to a much smaller size, so I added probably about 150g. I then poured in two tins of chopped tomatoes and one tablespoon of madras paste, and left to simmer for about twenty minutes on a medium heat.

20150405_204956
Veggie goodness

Despite being able to eat meat again, I still intend to make vegetarian dishes when I can. This may prove more challenging this month as I have two essays, a total of nine thousand words, due in a month’s time. But as I’ve mentioned before, I am pretty good with time management, and I see cooking as a form of relaxing from studying.

Happy reading and blogging,

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

Leave a Reply

