Butter-couscous-nut squash

Well today is another glorious day where I am. When the sun is out and it starts to feel warmer, I love eating salads (a salad for me on a hot summer’s day feels refreshing). Today I had some sliced lettuce with chopped red peppers, the left over tuna from Friday and some cannellini beans.

Despite having couscous for lunch on Friday, I had it for dinner as well on the same day, but stuffed the remainder of it in a butternut squash. I had a go at making stuffed squash recently, stating that I would try it differently next time.

When I scooped out the seeds, I also took out more of the squash so that I had more room to put filling in.

20150320_160412
More room inside the squash this time

There wasn’t much squash, but I cooked it until soft then mashed it; this was then mixed into the couscous. I also added some mixed salad beans to the couscous, to give it a bit more substance.

As previously, I placed the butternut squash in a pan of boiling water to soften. I then put the couscous filling into the squash, and cooked for about 30 minutes at gas mark 5.

20150320_182840
The squash after being cooked

I definitely experienced more taste this time, by incorporating the flesh of the butternut squash into the filling. It also meant that the stuffed squash didn’t feel like so much of a task to eat, as the squash was quite thick last time.

20150320_183512
Even more couscousy goodness inside the squash

Happy reading and blogging,

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

One thought on “Butter-couscous-nut squash

Leave a Reply

