Weight a minute

Dear Body Weight, 

I’m sure you have already heard this numerous times since we humans became so concerned with our health, well-being and body image, but you are fleeting, two-faced and fickle minded. 

K.

Those who are trying to lose weight or maintain it might agree with how I’ve just described body weight. That’s our perception of it at least, in a world where our bodies are measured by BMI, kgs (or pounds, if you’re old school like me) and judged by the people around us and the media.

Despite the representations of the ideal body in the media, more people than ever are now classed as being overweight or obese, and it’s certainly seems more acceptable among us than it was when I was a young child.

I am not losing weight to conform to the ideal body image in society, or defy what seems to be becoming normal. I want to reduce my weight to improve my health and feel better about myself. It does not concern people who are quick to judge, and I am not concerned about what they think. I am losing weight because I want to.

Despite my description of body weight, I do believe that it is fleeting. Through my experiences of trying to lose weight and record it, weight is a strange thing. Just when you think the scales will be bad news after a week of indulging, it can be quite the opposite. And when you have done so well during the week, the scales can tell you something quite different.

I weighed myself today according to how I have always done it; first thing Saturday morning after I’ve relieved myself and with no clothing on. This week I have over indulged in sweet treats and I was expecting to have put weight on, after successfully shifting off 3 pounds last week. However, my weight has remained the same! I was expecting to have put some weight on, my worst fear being the 3 pounds I had lost.

20150321_083848
In a state of confusion after weighing myself this morning

I recently searched the internet for advice on how and when you should weigh yourself. I came across an interesting article, which I can’t find now, that suggested the best way to record weight is to weigh yourself every day for a week and work out the average. Thinking about it, this could be a good method.

Weighing yourself once a week is not a true representation of your body weight for that week. Your recorded weight might depend on what you’ve eaten or had to drink the night or a few days before. Working out at the gym can contribute to body weight, especially if you are developing muscle, but this helps in the long term to reduce body fat. Like I said before, body weight is fleeting.

From today, I will try weighing myself every day and calculate the average. I will compare these results to the weight I record on a Saturday to see if there are any differences.

Happy reading and blogging,

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

7 thoughts on “Weight a minute

  1. Basically the all matter of convincing people to loose weight in order to look like a model or a sport person is just a big business spurred by the media that generates billions of pounds with an array of diet books, supplements, exercise programmes, detox etcetera. Being slim is not at all a sure sign of good health in fact sometimes totally the opposite. Besides, not all people can be slim or have the same body mass because there are three types of bodies: the brevi-linear with short limbs, the normo-linear with normal size limbs and the longi-linear with long limbs. Therefore a person with long limbs, say a tall person, especially when wearing clothes, may look slim while being fat while a brevilinear or even a normolinear may look fat or plump in spite of being all right. Body weight is also variable according to the seasons, for instance, in winter people may put on a bit of weight on because the body tries to insulate itself from the cold and in summer a person can loose a bit of weight due to increased perspiration more movement and a lighter diet more suited to the summer heat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

