There’s something delightfully fishy about this pasta

I am really glad that I decided to be a pescetarian for the period of lent. Abstaining from meat is going well but if I gave up fish as well, I think it would have been a lot more challenging and difficult. If I had more time on my hands, I would consider giving up fish as well for lent (that could be the challenge for next year when I’ve finished my studying).

Tonight I made a fish pasta bake, as usual without consulting any recipes. I made one about a month ago for my dad and I, and it tasted pretty good. When I normally make dishes, I use whatever ingredients are available in the house, such as vegetables and salad. It normally depends on what my dad has bought from the shops that week. As a family we generally shop at Aldi and get whatever fruit and vegetables are on the special 6 offer.

20150317_185956
The pasta bake served up

The pasta bake I made was enough to serve 6 people with salad and garlic bread (as a suggestion). I first fried chopped red and white onions, then added chopped butternut squash. I don’t bother peeling the skin off squash, as it is quite difficult, and the skin tastes great, particularly when roasted.

Once the squash started to soften, I added some leftover green cabbage and some sweet corn which I defrosted beforehand.  I then sliced the white fish fillets into chunks and added them to the concoction of vegetables. The fillets became very flaky as they heated up and when everything was all cooked, you could not really tell that there was fish in there. Despite this, the taste of the fish was definitely there. I then added two tins of chopped tomatoes and some mixed herbs, and left to cook and infuse for about five minutes.

20150317_182227
All the vegetables mixed together, just before the tomatoes went in

While I was preparing the fish and vegetable mixture, I cooked some pasta for about half of the recommended time. I then combined everything together and placed in an oven proof dish. Before popping in the oven for 25 minutes at gas mark 5, I sprinkled some grated mild cheddar cheese all over the top.

20150317_185837
The fish pasta bake just out of the oven

I love improvising when cooking, by trying new ingredients and flavours together. One example which worked really well was putting broccoli into lasagne. The broccoli tasted delicious and the texture was scrumptious. I felt that the butternut squash worked really well in the fish pasta bake, and I would love to try spinach next time.

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

3 thoughts on “There’s something delightfully fishy about this pasta

Leave a Reply

