Butternut of the squash variety

I was supposed to be at the gym this morning, but the early starts for exercising this week and having a full day ahead have made me tired, especially last night. I have really been starting to push myself this week in my dieting and exercising, so once I have become accustomed to this new routine, I won’t feel so tempted to have a lie in when my alarm beeps loudly, telling me to get my lazy bum out of bed!

So instead I have written this blog about what I made for dinner last night. I had a go at making a stuffed butternut squash, something which I’ve wanted to try. It went pretty well and I didn’t consult any recipes on how to prepare one. As with the stuffed peppers I made last week,  I placed it in a pan of boiling water for about 5 minutes to soften it up a bit, after getting all of the seeds out.

20150311_174729
The butternut squash ready to be stuffed

For the mixture, I used some leftover mixed salad beans with onions, celery, some cherry tomatoes which needed using and a touch of mixed herbs. I placed the mixture inside of the squash until it reached the very top where I carved the hole, then put it in the oven for about 30 minutes at gas mark 5.

20150311_184338
After being cooked in the oven

The top layer of the mixture was slightly crispy, which I took off and the rest was fine. Overall it tasted quite nice and I’m a big fan of roasted butternut squash. Next time though, I would not just spoon out the seeds, but also most of the squash on the inside, and use that in my mixture. I think that would make it even tastier and also there would be more room for mixture. The layer of squash inside was quite thick, so I had made a bit too much to stuff inside, but I can save that for another meal.

20150311_184842
The mixture inside

With another 23 days left of lent, I will probably post some more vegetarian dishes. Despite being a meat eater, I do enjoy vegetarian options- they are rather tasty.

Happy reading and blogging,

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

2 thoughts on “Butternut of the squash variety

Leave a Reply

