Pepper stuffingly good

As some of you will know from my last blog (That time of year), last night’s dinner was a success and my sister is keen to try the vegetarian lasagne. I’d like to make it again but try different vegetables next time, such as courgettes and spinach. That’s the beauty of cooking without following a recipe; you can experiment with ingredients to create your own unique dishes. Then again, cooking is pretty flexible, since you can tweak a recipe to your own preferences.

Following British tradition, I had a roast dinner with my family today, which meant lots of vegetables, potatoes, Yorkshire puddings, and meat. Instead of meat, I have recently had alternatives such as vegetarian quiche and fish alongside a roast dinner however, I wanted to try something else.

When lent commenced, my dad stocked up the cupboard with more beans than you can shake a stick at. There are red kidney beans, black eyed peas, borlotti beans, chick peas and of course, baked beans. I love beans, especially mixed salad beans which I’ve been having on my salads for lunch since lent, instead of ham.

So for roast dinner today, I had borlotti beans in a tomato sauce, stuffed in a green pepper. I’ve eaten meat stuffed peppers before in restaurants, which have been delicious. I have always wanted to make stuffed peppers, so I made them tonight, and one of them accompanied my roast dinner.

20150308_184809

I actually made the bean mixture for my Friday evening meal and had some left over. It contained onions, garlic, celery, borlotti beans, a tin of chopped tomatoes and mixed herbs. I used green peppers, which I cooked in a pan of boiling water to soften them (I observed this from one of my house mates I used to live with, in my second year as an undergraduate). I then divided the mixture between the peppers and popped them in the oven for about 30 mins at gas mark 6.

20150308_173803
The stuffed peppers before going in the oven

I’m not a huge fan of green peppers when they are raw; I find that they have a very tangy taste. I much prefer red, yellow and orange peppers chopped up in a salad, but green peppers are delicious when they have been cooked in the oven or even grilled. The bean mixture worked well inside the green peppers and the taste combinations worked well too.

Once again I would like to make veggie stuffed peppers in the future, and experiment with different ingredients. Couscous seems a popular filling for peppers, and I haven’t had couscous for a long time (light bulb!). Something else I’d like to try is stuffed butternut squash; I love the taste and texture of baked butternut squash (light bulb again!).

If any of you would like to know how I made the bean mixture and the stuffed peppers, then I’d be happy to send you my own instructions.

Happy reading and blogging!

Many thanks,

Clare Bear

7 thoughts on “Pepper stuffingly good

Leave a Reply

